Development Theories & Strategies Since 1945 (sp17)

Course ID: 
GDEV-6680-01
Semester: 
Spring
Year: 
2017
Credits: 
3
Instructor(s): 
Campus: 
Description: 

In this course, students analyze the concept and practice of international development as it has evolved since the end of WWII: what beliefs underlay various approaches, what structures & events influenced beliefs, how governments & institutions responded, and how differing approaches succeeded or failed.  Students examine the evolution of development through four major dimensions: 1) development theories & strategies pursued by developing countries & donors; 2) international political & economic context; 3) donor policies & programs; 4) and development performance & trends in selected countries of Africa, Asia, & Latin America

Pre-requisite(s) Course ID: 
IDEV-6100-01
IDEV-6670-01
Pre-requisite(s) Explanation: 

Open to GDEV Graduate Students who have already taken GDEV 6100, Intro to Econ, and also open to
IDEV Undergraduates with the following Pre-requisites: ECON 1020, IDEV 1010, IDEV 3200 and IDEV 4300)

IDEV6670 is a recommended pre-requisite.

Course Notes: 

This course was formerly called Six Decades of Development.

Dr. Laura Murphy of the School of Public Health’s  Department of Global Health Systems and Development, teaches a course entitled Development Theory which is an acceptable substitute IDEV 6680, Development Theories and Strategies Since 1945.  Development Theory is offered each fall and Payson students are welcome to register.  The information is below:

  • GCHBS 7200, Development Theory
  • October-December, Tues-Thurs, 5:30-8 pm
More Textbook Information: 

Texts can also be purchased from the Tulane University Official Campus Bookstore.

Course Times: 
Repeats every week every Monday until Wed Apr 27 2016.
Monday, January 11, 2016 -
3:00pm to 5:30pm
Monday, January 18, 2016 -
3:00pm to 5:30pm
Monday, January 25, 2016 -
3:00pm to 5:30pm
Monday, February 1, 2016 -
3:00pm to 5:30pm
Monday, February 8, 2016 -
3:00pm to 5:30pm
Monday, February 15, 2016 -
3:00pm to 5:30pm
Monday, February 22, 2016 -
3:00pm to 5:30pm
Monday, February 29, 2016 -
3:00pm to 5:30pm
Monday, March 7, 2016 -
3:00pm to 5:30pm
Monday, March 14, 2016 -
3:00pm to 5:30pm
Monday, March 21, 2016 -
3:00pm to 5:30pm
Monday, March 28, 2016 -
3:00pm to 5:30pm
Monday, April 4, 2016 -
3:00pm to 5:30pm
Monday, April 11, 2016 -
3:00pm to 5:30pm
Monday, April 18, 2016 -
3:00pm to 5:30pm
Monday, April 25, 2016 -
3:00pm to 5:30pm

Would you like to receive our eNewsletter?

Delivered to your inbox every two weeks, The Monitor covers a wide variety of topics – from profiles of our researchers, faculty, staff and students, to in-depth looks at some of our projects, as well as new academic programming and initiatives. View the archive...

Subscribe to The Monitor